Contact Me

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Title: The Iron Queen
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey, book 3
Genre: Fiction, Teen, YA
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: E-book

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.”

The Iron Queen is the third installment in the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa.
The Iron Queen picks up right after the end of The Iron Daughter. Meghan, daughter of the Summer King and Ash, son of the Winter Queen were exiled from the Nevernever for falling in love, something that is forbidden by the two courts.

Ash and Meghan are thinking what their future will held in this new life in the “real” world far away from the intrigues and life of the Nevernever. Meghan wants to go back home to Louisiana, she dreams of being reunited with her mother, step-father and brother and live a normal life in company of Ash, but when she gets close to their house she realizes that her family will be at risk just for her been there with them.
She also realizes that for her and hers to be ever at peace the False Iron King has to die. She decides to start training with Ash. Puck has followed them to the real world and in consequence he is also exiled from the Nevernever. Ash is helping Meghan with her fighting skills and Puck is helping her with her training in glamour.

While Meghan is doing some progress with her trainings she is offer a deal from her father King Oberon and from Ash’s mother Queen Mab, they offer to lift the exile for her, Ash and Puck, giving them full pardon for their crimes if she returns to the Nevernever and goes deep into the Iron Realm to kill the False Iron King before the Iron realm overtakes the Summer and Winter Realms.
Though she doesn’t like that they are considering and treating her as an assassin, she knows she has to do it and for her failing is not an option.

Meghan grows Page by page; she is a different person emotionally and physically. She knows what she wants and what she has to do and nothing will stop her because she’s willing to do whatever is necessary to obtain it.

Ash show us his heart in this book and what a heart he has. I liked him in the previous books but I loved him in this one. I him.
Ash and Meghan relationship gets cemented in this installment, they are good for each other, they laid bare their emotions and show us that their love is beautiful and pure, their devotion to each other is a real bliss.

Puck also proves his love for Meghan and even though he’s deeply in love with her, he’s knows that she loves Ash and respects that, because her love for her is so great that he wants for her whatever makes her happy.

Grimalkin also makes an appearance in this book. I’m a cat lover and he’s a perfect example of a cat, he does what he wants when he wants. He is a great help along the way even though he behaves like he doesn’t care and things are not his business. I love this character.

The end of the book left my heart hurting and wishing tomorrow was November to get my hands in the next installment, The Iron Knight.

I love this series, but The Iron Queen surpassed my expectations. Ms. Kagawa is an amazing writer, I love the world created by her, it’s so vivid and rich in detail that I just need to close my eyes to see it and feel it in front of me.

I don’t have anything negative to say about this book, the only thing left for me to tell you is that if you haven’t read this book you shouldn’t wait more, go get it NOW! You won’t regret it. And if you haven’t read this series I recommend you to read it in order.

My favorite quotes:

  “For better or worse, I’m afraid you’re stuck with me now” (Ash to Meghan)
  “I have always loved you, princess,” Robin Goodfellow promised, his green eyes shining in the darkness. “I always will. And I’ll take whatever you can give me”
  “I won’t let anything happen to you,” he murmured. “You are my heart, my life, my entire existence.” (Ash to Meghan)
  “And in the quiet stillness before dawn, on the brink of a war that could tear us apart, our auras danced and twined in the darkness, coiling around each other until they finally merged, becoming one.”

My verdict: 5 Paws

Other books in the series:
The Iron King
Winter Passage (Novella)
The Iron Daughter
The Iron Queen
The Iron Knight - November 2011

Other reviews: Goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...